Wieniawski Competition

Veriko Tchumburidze (Georgia/Turkey) is the winner of the Henryk Wieniawski International Violin Competition in Poznań.

Bomsori Kim (South Korea) and Seiji Okamoto (Japan) share the second prize. Maria Włoszczowska, the only Pole in the final round, won the Sixth Prize.

Born in 1996, Veriko Tchumburidze started playing the violin at the age of four. She studied in Mersin, south Turkey and in Vienna. She is currently developing her skills with Ana Chumachenco at the Musik Hochschule in Munich. She received the Gold Medal and a cash prize of EUR 30,000.

The international jury, chaired by the famous violinist and conductor Maxim Vengerov, announced its verdict shortly before midnight on Saturday.

In the final round, the participants performed two concertos, including one by Henryk Wieniawski, the 19th century Polish violin virtuoso and composer to whom the event is dedicated.

Forty violinists entered the event, selected from among 250 participants in the preliminary auditions.

Past prizewinners of the Wieniawski Competition include Ginette Neveu (1919-1949), David Oistrakh (1908-1974), Ida Haendel (born in 1928) and Grażyna Bacewicz (1909-1969).